Home > Resource, Visual Design > Understanding grids!

Understanding grids!

After last weeks lesson I have really struggle to understand grids, rule of thirds but mainly the golden ratio. I really wanted to know how to relate all these concepts to layout development so I found a fantastic resource that illustrates how grids are relevent in layout design and which one’s work well.

My resource was ‘Exploring publication design’ by Poppy Evans, which explores the essential principles and techniques for designing articles, brochures and other print publications. The book not only talks about page layout but typography and colour which is all relevent to this module.

From this resource I have learnt more about the importance of grids in organization and design and developed my knowledge of grid work. With this resource I think that I feel more comfortable working with grids and manipulating them with design for a set purpose. yay!

Categories: Resource, Visual Design
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

