Home > Graphics, Visual Design > Design brief 4

Design brief 4

GREEN BUSINESS CARD


For this design brief I had to design a business card for a company that sells green products. This differed greatly from my last brief but I decided to follow the same thought process of planning, research and development to create my final product.

Initial planning: Brainstorm

In this brainstorm I really wanted to explore what I consider ‘green’ and also what I know about business card so I can being to visualise the two combining together into one design. I think this brief heavily contrasts the punk poster because this one requires a professional aesthetic with limitations of appropriate design rather than me being able to go completely wild.  I think the important things I gathered through the initial brainstorm is the importance of natural imaging, the colour and word green and contact details within a double sided business card layout.

Background research

This is an image I found Google which shows the same company generating two

business cards that represent their company and their green ethos. Similarly

to my previous brief I will list what I like and don’t like about this card.

What I like

  • The shade of green is eye catching and highly specific which is replicated throughout the image and text
  • The information is clear and concise but doesn’t overcrowd of block the main logo and title – and visa versa
  • I like how there are two designs that can inverted and still be equally as effective.

What I don’t like:

– I think the green is too harsh against the bright white background, a pastel colour would of provided a better contrast and balance

I really like elements of this business card, especially the logo of “Green” with a leaf. I really think putting a leaf alongside my business title would look effective and reiterate the company ethos. However, to get the colour balance right I think I would have to play around with shades once again.

This is another green business card I found on Google that represents another green business.

What I like:

  • The text and logo used for “green business” is really smart but modern – it would really well as a transferable logo to a blog, website or leaflet that the business may produce.
  • The logo, name and main body of information is well organised and seperated to make the layout really effective and simple.
  • I love the block of colour surrounding the logo on the top image, it’s modern but smart constructing a positive business image

What I don’t like:

  • I really don’t like the colours used. The green is really bright and doesn’t work well with white on the one side of the card (top of the image) however it works well on the bottom image. I would personally choose a different shade so the design is more cohessive.
  • The check indentsations over the top – I don’t get why they are there I think it ruins the simplicity that would work well on this card – I definately don’t want to include too much layering on my design!

Through looking at these example I’ve realised that my design must be simplistic, modern, elegant but most definitely green and eco-friendly. It is also important to not make the card over crowded and get the right shade of colours – because the design is so simple every little detail matters.

Design Selection: Images, font and colour

Colour:

As I’ve established the right shade of green is extremely important in such a simple design so I decided to once again generate a colour palette of different greens and background colours so I could see what matched together well and if it was effective.

With the green palette, I found it really hard to find a shade of green that I thought was quite original but also effective in combination with a pastel colour. After much experimentation I finally came up with the circle colour which I’m really happy with because it’s quite a unique colour and works well in combination with a lot of pastel colours.

I also found it hard finding a nice pastel colour. I decided to work against the green I had selected and eventually came up with this combination of green, greys and creams. Together they work really well to create a cohesive design. I decided to once again test this by combining them with text and background.

Font:

When deciding my font I knew I wanted each letter to be clear but I thought a serif font for the main title might be nice and look elegant but creative too. For the main body of information such as the website I thought a sans serif was definitely the way to go. I decided to look through the fonts available on the apple macs at university and also the ones available on Dafont. Once again I have created a compilation of both of these so I could choose what fonts I thought were effective and what weren’t.

The fonts I looked at were

ON DAFONT:

  • Lobster by Pablo Impallari
  • Sketch Block by www.artill.de
  • Japan by Mario Arturo
  • Hand times by eM-Vii aka Manuel Viergutz
  • Geo Sans Light by Manfred Klein

NOT ON DAFONT:

  • Helvetica
  • Orator Std
  • Tahoma

In the end I decided to use three fonts – for the title Sketch Block, and for the main bodies of text Orator Std and Geo Sans Light. I chose these because I thought they were simple and readable fonts that would transfer well into a business card layout. Additionally, Sketch Block offers a more creative and innovative font than I’ve seen on my research business card making the card stand out against the very strong market of business cards, especially ‘green ones’

Images:

Once again, because I’m very bad at drawing I decided an image off the internet would be a lot better, however, when looking for my fonts on Dafont I discovered a font called Plants (in dingbats)which involves a combination of plant graphics transferred into a font. I thought this would be a fantastic and simple way to include a natural leaf logo into my design so I experiemented with all the letters and decided to use the letters ‘j’ and ‘f’. Below is a look at all the letters and symbols within this font.

My final design.

This is my finished product (front (top) and back (bottom)). I think I successfully included all the things I’ve learnt during the module, research, colours, typography and techniques into a well thought out and clear design that matches the brief well. I shall now do an in depth critical analysis of this with my personal opinion at the end. But first I have to decide what printing decisions to make in terms of paper and overall finish.

Paper and finishing:

Paper:

I decided that the page size should be a business card size. This is because it is a convienient size for most people as it could fit into organisers and wallets, and fits in with the usual business card expectancy.Additionally, I wanted the paper weight to be 400 GSM as this is the typical weight for a business and it is proven to be successful as a weight and format. Finally I decided to give the card an uncoated finished as this is usually made with recycled paper (which is a must to reflect the company ethos) and gives of a eco-friendly perspective which is reflective of the company and the brief given.

Also, because I used downloadable fonts I would have to make sure I saved them as an image file so they wouldn’t be printed wrong and so my image is maintained.

CRITICAL ANALYSIS

Composition:

When making my business card I did try to use a grid but I don’t think I used it very well. The main of the front of the business card was to have the logo big and central with the website directly below. I think however, by breaking or ignoring the grids in a way it has made the design really stand out and made for a very effective business card. However when it came to the back of the card I think I followed the bases of a grid a bit better, with the logo being repeated near one of the four main focal points and also the two main bodies of information taking up the other two in the bottom left and right. The one thing concerning composition however that I’m not happy with is the other green leaf. It isn’t central, but when I put it central it didn’t look right at all. However, overall I am happy with everything is laid out.

Colour

I think that the green and pastel colour that I used really work well together to create a simple, professional and elegant design that continually reiterates the green ethos that the company is eager to promote. However once again the leaf of the back of the card is annoying me because I think the colour is too different and doesn’t blend well with the rest of the design.

Images

I really think using a font as my image benefited well as none of it was pixelated at all and I adjust the size very specifically. I think the simplicity of the leaf blends well with the contrasting black font and stands out leaving a sense of environment and nature both in colour and style.

Typography

I’m really happy with the blend of fonts that I used because the contrast gives a unique aesthetic with a sense of inovation and looks different to most business cards I’ve seen during my research. Additionally working with the spacing between letters on the title and also in my text “green perspective” adds points of interest to the card and doesn’t make it all too similar but all effective and interesting.

Content

I think I have included all the relevant information that a company would want to present on a business card. I also decided it would important to specify the sales manager so it is clear that this is a company that sells products with a green perspective. I think including a slogan add’s something extra to the business card without overcrowding which I think is a good thing.

Once again I’m really happy with what I produced. I challenged my technique through using effects like pin dropping and stretching and stuck specifically the brief. Although I think I would change the second leaf image and perhaps replace that with a recycle symbol in the top right hand corner.

 

Categories: Graphics, Visual Design
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

